Yukon Brewing Race Day Results

The weather was excellent and the fall colours were vivid in the Golden Horn Subdivision at host Cynthia Corriveau’s place for the 3rd event in this summer’s DPSAY Hot Hounds Race Series: Yukon Brewing Race Day.

Yukon Brewing Race day saw 14 competitors bring out their dogs to field 22 entrants across 4 events.  The all new trail for Yukon Brewing Race Days was a challenging and technical arrangement of turns and intersections that provided a forum for another evening of stiff competition in the Canicross, 1mile – 1 dog and the 2mile – 2 dog events.  In the 1 mile – 1 dog event only 1min 19sec separated the 1st place finisher from the 5th place finisher and in the 2mile – 2 dog there was only a 1min 23sec difference between the 1st place and 5th place.

Following the race everyone gathered around the fire pit at host Cynthia Corriveau’s place to share food and drinks brought by the competitors.  Once everyone had settled down a little from the excitement of the races, the spectators, volunteers and competitors gathered for the awards presentation.  Prizes for this week’s event were provided by our Race Day sponsor Yukon Brewing and other prizes were also provided by our additional prize sponsors (Firstmate Extreme dog food, Icy Waters Arctic Charr, The City of Whitehorse and Cadence Cycle)

Pet Dog:

Jon Lucas                                  8min 55sec


Stefan Wackerhagen                   7min 34sec

Adam Robinson                          7min 42sec

Sandro Holzinger                        8min 34sec

Amelie Janin                              10min 26sec

Sophie Firmevich                        14min 16sec

1-Mile 1-Dog

Cynthia Corriveau                       5min 40sec

Stefan Wackerhagen                   5min 48sec

Claudia Wickert                          6min 21sec

Darryl Sheepway                        6min 28sec

Gaetan Pierrard                          6min 39sec

Fabian Schmidtz                         8min 33sec

Marcelle Fresineau                      13min 52sec

2-Mile 2-Dog          

Cynthia Corriveau                       7min 30sec

Stefan Wackerhagen                   8min 14sec

Adam Robinson                          8min 37sec

Darryl Sheepway                        8min 40sec

Fabian Schmitz                           8min 53sec

Jon Lucas                                  9min 57sec

Claudia Wickert                          10min 50sec

Sandro Holzinger                        13min 21sec

Deb Knight                                14min 22sec

The next event and season finale in this summer’s DPSAY Hot Hounds Race Series will be held on Sunday October 2nd at Mike and Jessica Simons place on the Mayo Rd.

The Season Finale will be sponsored by Antoinette’s Restaurant and Mike Simon – Lake Laberge Liberal Candidate who are providing Gift certificates for Antoinette’s Restaurant for the 1st, 2nd, and 3rdplace finishers in each event.  So keep checking our blog over the next few weeks for more updates and directions to The Hot Hounds 2011 season Finale.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s